hitchcock 发表于 2016-1-2 20:06

第1-3章:甲壳虫乐队和大卫潘 - The Beatles and David Poon

"Please Please Me" 45 record from my beatles collection.

The Beatles and David Poon

As I entered my teenage year and became more aware of current music, I slowly distanced myself from the recording that I'd been brought up with. The likes of Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Johnny Mathis and Julie London were no longer a part ofmy immediate consciousness.

It was the early '60s, and the "British Invasion" was about to hit. I attended Princes Hill High School in Melbourne and enjoyed my times there. Slowly coming out of my shell, I had quite a few friends and liked most of my teacher, who seemed to like me, too. I was an average student who loved studying English and French, an average student who didn't have any interests in math, economics or any other subjects. The most consistent comment from teachers on my reports card was, "Could do much better if he applied himself."

In those days, students were placed at desks that had two side-by-side seats in the classroom. In 1963/64. I was seated next to my friend David Poon, a brilliant student who studied hard, got all his homework in on time and was a lot of fun to be around. He was one of my closest friends in high school, and we spent a lot of time hanging out together.

One day he came into class, and as we were chatting before out teacher arrived, he handed me a 45 recording. (For those who don't know: it was a vinyl recording that revolved on a turntable at 45 rpm.) He told me to check it out, as he thought it was fantastic and that I would love it. The recording was The Beatles' "Please Please Me". I took it home that day, played it (100 times), and my thoughts about music and how it affected me changed my life forever. As a footnote, I was fortunate enought to see the Beatles perform live in Melbourne in 1964.

中文译文:
      当我进入了青少年时期,我变得对当时的音乐更关注了,我逐渐开始疏远伴我成长的那些音乐。Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Johnny Mathis和Julie London已经不再是我当时热衷的了。